The Most Important Thing You’ll Ever Read, Part 6 | Application

July 22, 2011

Today’s post will be short and sweet.  There’s not a lot I can say about how you should apply Scripture to your life–I can tell you how I should, but that might not be much help to you–you, who are in different seasons and struggle with different sins.

Basically, in order to apply Scripture to your life you must look back at the conclusions you made at the end of the Interpretation phase.  To refresh your memory, here is Titus 2:4-5 that we’re studying and the Interpretive Conclusion I came to:

so that they may encourage the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind, being subject to their own husbands, so that the word of God will not be dishonored.

  • In Titus 2:4-5, Paul wrote to Titus to tell him that in order for the Gospel–the word of God–not to be dishonored–in order that the young Cretan womens’ testimonies for Christ not be ruined, they were to love their husbands, love their children, be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind, and subject to their own husbands.

Our job in the Application phase is to decide how this truth will change our lives.  What things can we do, think, etc. to apply the verse we’re studying to our lives?

The best way I’ve found to do this (for me) is to simply write what I’m thinking.  I write it as a prayer sometimes (because prayer during this phase is incredibly important), but the point is that I just write.  I write for as long and as in-depth as I need to.  I confess areas in my life that I have not been applying the truths in whichever verse I’m studying.  I ask for strength.  I ask for wisdom.

More than anything else, though, once I have repented and prayed for me, I spend time thanking God for who He is.  For Jesus.  For the Cross.  I meditate upon the Cross in light of what I’ve learned and look to Jesus as my over-all motivation for change.

This is new to me–this Gospel-centered repentance and I won’t lie to you: I don’t have it all figured out.  It’s different from anything I’ve ever heard before and it’s radically changing my life.  As of right now, I can’t explain it any better than to tell you simply: the application to any Bible passage is the Gospel: Christ and Him crucified.  He is our motivation.

My hope is to learn more and explain this all better at a later date, but for right now, this is what I know to be true.

Here is a link to the free Application printable.  You can find the Observation and Interpretation printables by following this link, also:

View this document on Scribd

Finally, here is a Bible-sized printable you can print out, cut to fit your Bible, and carry with your Bible.  This has proved helpful to me to use as a guideline as I’m studying.

View this document on Scribd

I hope that this series as opened your eyes to a simplified, yet in-depth way to study your Bible. I hope that this series will help you navigate the Scripture.  Mostly I hope that you will begin to see Jesus as the main point of your Bible!

Are you confused?  Is something I wrote fishy?  Do you want more information?  Let me know and I’ll help you/correct myself!

Leave a comment